The Laboratory of Feminist Memory Bar

by: Valentina Laudari

As the last part of our course, we attended the final event. The Laboratory of Feminist Memory featured several artworks by a lot of talented artists. Visual art, poetry and films were the mediums used by the powerful feminist women. I was extremely proud of my team’s video to be featured amongst these works. We initially intended the feminist remediation video to just be a project for our class, however, our professor thought it would be great to screen it at the event as well. I was nervous to share the stage with the rest of the amazing artists. How could we follow the short film by Elisha Lim or the Think About It Series? As a fourth-year film student, I have screened several films before but never presented them in this context. I anxiously watched the crowd as they watched the film. To my surprise, the audience seemed to really enjoy it. After screening the film, I shared my feelings of hesitation with the crowd but the audience was extremely reassuring. My heart was filled when one person said that the film was better than most of the ones they had seen at festivals. My group members were also encouraged to post the video online.

I am rarely surrounded by so many supportive and inclusionary people. I was not aware that events like this one existed. The Social Justice Media course has opened my eyes to feminist theories, important discourse and uplifting events such as the Laboratory of Feminist Memory. I am appreciative that I have been exposed to such media and look forward to incorporating what I learned into the media I produce.

IMG_0809.JPG

Leave a comment